Dr Akshay Kumar Rathore

    Friday, 12 March 2021  15:15-16:30 CET

    Electrolytic Capacitorless Pulsating DC Link 3-Phase Inverter for Low Battery Voltage e-Mobility

    Sinusoidal Pulse Width Modulation (SPWM) and space vector modulation (SVM) have been widely adopted for three-phase sine AC output from a fixed dc link if the dc link voltage is much higher than desired three-phase output. However, if the source/dc link voltage is lower than the load voltage, then frond-end dc/dc converters becomes necessary leading to the design of the multistage power conversion system. To implement existing SVM or carrier based modulation, traditionally a large costly unreliable electrolytic capacitor is employed to develop a high voltage intermediate dc link. Novel Single-reference-Six-Pulse Modulation (SRSPM) completely eliminates the dc link electrolytic capacitor allowing pulsating dc link voltage waveform at the inverter input. It substantially reduces the cost, size, and weight and improves reliability of the system. This novel SRSPM is simple and results in saving of 87% switching losses. The concept has been experimentally demonstrated with closed loop control to achieve 97% efficiency in lab.

    Short bio

    Akshay Kumar Rathore is an IEEE Fellow and an AdCom Member-at-Large of IEEE Industrial Electronics Society. He received his Ph.D. degree in Power Electronics from the University of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada, in 2008. He had two postdoctoral appointments with the University of Wuppertal, Germany, and University of Illinois at Chicago, USA. He published above 270 research papers in international journals and conferences including 92 IEEE Transactions. His research is predominantly focused on the current-fed converters, multilevel inverters, and control of motor drives applied to solar photovoltaics, fuel cells, electric transportation, and drives. Currently, he is the leader in the current-fed power electronics research, contributed to the analysis and design of two new classes of snubberless current-fed converters, and experimentally established their remarkable performance. To his credit, he has one approved European patent licensed to WEG, Brazil for the commercialization of Medium Voltage Drives Systems. He has co-authored three book chapters. He received 2013 IEEE IAS Andrew W. Smith Outstanding Young Member Achievement Award, 2014 Isao Takahashi Power Electronics Award, 2017 IEEE David Irwin Early Career Award, and 2020 IEEE Bimal Bose Award for Industrial Electronics in Energy Systems. He has served and been serving as Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Industry Applications (2014-till), IEEE Transactions on Sustainable Energy (2015-till), IEEE Transactions on Transportation Electrification (2014-19), IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology (2016-19), IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics (2015-19), and IEEE Journal of Emerging and Selected Topics in Power Electronics (2014-19). He served as Chair of IEEE IES Technical Committee on Transportation Electrification (2016-17) and IES Publication committee member since 2016.